Showing posts with label Smoothie. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Smoothie. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Just a quick post.

It's getting hot out. Hot sucks! Especially in Las Vegas. Fortunately this is my last year living here! I'm moving back to CA in October. I'm excited! I miss L.A! However, until I leave this place I must endure it's evil temperatures. Those of you who know me well know that I live for smoothies when it's hot out. When it's hot out there is nothing I want more than a nice, cold fruit smoothie.

Photobucket


Strawberry/Blueberry Smoothie
Photobucket

I'm not a huge mock-meat fan but I found this to be quite good. Perfect for slicing up and having it as a snack on crackers.

Photobucket


I think I'll buy this again and use it as a pizza topping. It honestly tastes better than any pepperoni I remember. My roommate and I ate half of it pretty quickly. Well, I mostly ate it. Couldn't help myself!
Fire Roasted Tomato Grain Meat
Photobucket

And finally... the only food that I've had all month that I could not get out of my mind...

The highlight of my month:
Photobucket

Amaretto is quite possibly my all-time favorite flavor. Coconut milk is pretty high up there also. I almost lost it when I walked down the dessert aisle at Whole Foods and found this. I opened the frozen case and this actually felt like it was staring back at me.

This was a pretty pathetic post. I know. But better than not posting anything, Right?

-Lee

Monday, May 4, 2009

Smoothie?! Shake?! Confused!! More Pizza Too?!?!

"Smoothies are generally made of fruit or vegetables; shakes are usually made of ice cream."

This is just one of the answers that I've gotten trying to find the difference between the 2. It is also the one that was straight to the point without babbling on and on. HOWEVER... What do you call soy ice cream + fruit + soymilk? It is ice cream based so it's a shake, right? BUT WAIT! It contains mostly berries! So, it's a smoothie, right? A smake? A shoothie? Yea... I could go around and around. All I know is, Landry likes to make them and I like to eat them. Like I said, he WILL be making these all summer. First up:


Soy ice cream, strawberries, soymilk and Strawberry Milkshake Oreos. I'm pretty sure this one counts as a shake. So, shake it is!
Photobucket


Photobucket


Photobucket

It was tasty. Can't have too many of these though. I'd like to get rid of a few more lbs before summer and these are not the way to achieve that! However, they are very tasty.

Next up:

Apple, blueberry, strawberry, soy ice cream and soymilk. This one tasted more fruity, so I say smoothie.

Photobucket


What can I say? Even he can't get enough of his own creations. Haha, he's even got a little on his shirt!

Photobucket


Now, on to my pizza. And YES, I know that I have been posting it a lot lately but darnit, I like it. This time I didn't make it. I found somewhere to make a vegan pizza for me! I went to hole Foods with Joelle and they have a pizzeria right inside. I asked them what their sauce and dough contained and it was all vegan. They also pulled a pack of Follow Your Heart Vegan Mozzarella of the shelf for it.


Photobucket

Mushroomhalves, spinach, thick sliced tomatoes, roasted garlic and vegan mozzarella... It was very tasty.

Photobucket

Up close and personal: (shook a little extra seasoning on it.)
Photobucket

Seeing as I will not be using my oven or stovetop this summer, I will probably pick up a pizza once a month so I can treat myself.



Saturday, April 25, 2009

The heat is already here?!

Summer is my least favorite season. Mainly because I live in Las Vegas and it gets INCREDIBLY HOT. I am SO not read for 100-120 degree weather. Spring is here and the heat is beginning. It was about 95 degrees here today. I was off work and school so I didn't leave the house. With the heat coming I am preparing myself for a long summer of never turning on the oven or stove top. This means NO BAKING! It will be hard. Yes, it will be hard.

Last summer I was a new vegan and was learning to cook all new things so I used my stove plenty and suffered in the heat of my apartment. My air conditioner never could counter the heat coming from the stove. The roommate hated it. This year I am not going to go through all of the fuss. Right now the nights are pretty cool so I will be doing cooking during the hours when it is cool outside and storing most of what I make in the freezer for easy microwaving later on.

In addition to having frozen meals waiting to just be popped into the microwave I will be adapting more of a raw diet for the summer. Not completely raw but a lot of what I eat will be. Most of my summer consumption will consist of:

-Cold teas (3 tea bags in 2 Qt water and let sit for a few hours makes the best cold tea!)
-Smoothies
-Tons of raw fruits & vegetables
-Tofu salads, bean salads, pasta salads, corn salads, fruit salads
-LOTS of veggie sushi (the roommate's rice cooker doesn't generate a whole lot of heat.)
-Granolas and Mueslis
-Salads and homemade salad dressings
-Raw soups
-Homemade trail mixes
-Loads of Hummus
- & More!!!


My roommate/bestie is the King of Smoothies. He can't cook but he sure can make a mean smoothie. He made me one recently! It was so good:

Photobucket

He made me a pineapple/Mango smoothie. I don't think he realized that I am going to be getting him to make me smoothies all summer long.

Photobucket



Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Smoooooooooooooooooothies...

Vegas is unbelievably hot in the summer. I hate to hear people complain about heat in their city because I can always compare their heat to Vegas heat. When it hits 116 and the air is as dry as sand it can make you extremely grouchy. The only thing you can do is try to stay indoors and keep yourself cooled down. A good way to avoid evil hot summer days is to make yourself a smoothie. I honestly could live off of these during the summer. My best friend/roommate has been on a smoothie kick lately so I get to enjoy these regularly now! They are fast and super easy to make!!!

What I used:
-Frozen Pineapple
-Frozen Strawberries
-Soy milk
-Vanilla Soy Ice Cream

I could make these daily and not get bored. Just switch up the fruit, maybe use sorbet instead of ice cream, add in flavors... create something to tantalize the taste buds and take the edge off the extremely hot day.




At least we are reaching the end of summer. Until the weather cools down I'm just going to keep myself loaded with these.

Want a SMOOTHIE?!?!?